Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
H
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
H
My rifle shoots the Buffalo Ball-et about as well as anything. It is a .54 with 1:48 twist, never tried it in a fast twist.

BP-B2

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
Ballets shoot better beyond 50 yards with a slower twist like the 48 (for instance). You can also gain a little more distance and accuracy using a fiber wad or 30-40 grains of cornmeal between the powder and ballet.

Last edited by Triple_Se7en; 06/26/15.
T
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
T
Originally Posted by bigblock455
250gr Aerolite would be perfect. Especially with around 80 grains BH209.

Bought 60 of these bullets to give them a shot. Man they're expensive to say the least! I wish they'd offer them in larger quantities than 15. At almost $2 a bullet I hope they shoot well.

M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
50 grs. of 2F, and a round ball..... My brother and I started shooting that load when we weighed about 40 pounds. It will kill a deer deader than a hammer...

And don't worry about real black powder corroding your gun like crazy. Just run a couple patches down it and you're good. I've shot more black powder than any other powder in my life, and my muzzleloaders have always shot great.

K.I.S.S.

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
I will not load a light, sub-224 grain ML bullet of any design, with less than 80 grains of powder. I demand of myself humane kills, out to 100 yards.
If you are only using 50 grains with a 177gr round bullet, that shot needs to be relatively close....... somewhere in the 50 yard ballpark.

IC B2

M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
I agree it is a light load, but for a young girl and 50-60 yard shots, it will be more than adequate....

60 grs and a .45 here.... Neck shots only...grin

[Linked Image]

Ben