Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I'm an experienced handloader, mostly rifle and handgun and a little bit of shotgun, but I'm new to handloading for an AR and found out there are many different dies sets out there.

Should I get small base? Will these dies over work the brass? I want the brass to live a long life. What about just standard full length dies? I use mostly RCBS stuff and I see they have AR-specific dies that feature a taper crimp instead of a roll crimp.

Which dies should I get? I just bought a new Ruger AR-556.

Thanks in advance.

Deus Juvat

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I use standard RCBS, Hornady, and Redding. None are small base. Never any issues.

John 8:12 "I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life."
R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
Redding FL bushing neck is what I finally settled on for brass life.

FL is more than enough though, I just prefer using bushings for the neck to control tension for accuracy etc...

No need ever for small base dies.

I've never crimped an AR15 round, used to load about 20K rounds a year.

I fill the case with powder and use the correct neck tension.

We can keep Larry Root and all his idiotic blabber and user names on here, but we can't get Ralph back..... Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over....
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Forster bench rest dies. Get the Ultra bullet seater if you want a touch more convenience adjusting seating depth.

I also have a set of the Hornady headspace gauge set. I adjust the sizer die until the case shoulder is pushed back about .002" during sizing. You will get totally reliable function, and good accuracy.

keep the cases trimmed, sorted for weight, and you are done. I no longer crimp AR rounds.

Last edited by tex_n_cal; 08/01/15.

"...the designer of the .270 Ingwe cartridge!..."

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R