Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
davet Online Content OP
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
D
I'm looking at a couple, which would you rank best?

CVA Optima
Knight 50
BPI 50 magnum hunter
Rem 700 muzzle loader.

It looked like the Knight was an older model and used a musket cap instead of a 209 primer. Is that anything to worry about?

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Nothing to worry about at all.

If you're buying used, make sure the bore is spotless. Then, in either new or used before you shoot it, DynaBoreCoat the bore. You will thank yourself later, every time you shoot it.

The Rem 700 is just an odd duck. Why go with a bolt action on a muzzleloader? You're adding weight and length when neither is needed or desirable. I have no experience with or around the BPI. The CVA is a decent ML, but be wary of the years and SNs involved in recalls. If it's outside of that, use it sensibly. The Knight is a good, solid, older ML.

Originally Posted by Mannlicher
America needs to understand that our troops are not 'disposable'. Each represents a family; Fathers, Mothers, Sons, Daughters, Cousins, Uncles, Aunts... Our Citizens are our most valuable treasure; we waste far too many.
T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
Kinda apples to oranges selection. Part would depend on your states regulations regarding ignition. The Knight and Rem are open breech designs and not suitable for use with Blackhorn 209. Their percusion ignition will work fine with the appropriate powders... real black powder, Pyrodex, 777, Black MZ, but not BH209.
Personally, I'd stay away from anything that has BPI on it.

Charter Member
Ancient order of the 1895 Winchester

"It's an insecure and petite man who demands all others like what he likes and dislike what he dislikes."
szihn

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
Originally Posted by davet
I'm looking at a couple, which would you rank best?

CVA Optima
Knight 50
BPI 50 magnum hunter
Rem 700 muzzle loader.