Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
L
I'm a newbie to Florida and saltwater fishing and looking for insight on what I should be looking for as far as jetty fishing, and coastal fishing and occasional surf casting for a do it all rod and reel? I have always fished fresh water, so all my tackle is not suitable for saltwater. Looking to spend maybe $300 for a good rig, but willing to go higher if need be. Looking at maybe a a Penn battle 11 5000 with an Ugli Stik 7' rod or an upgrade to a Redbone 7.5' medium heavy action rod at about $100. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

GB2

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Crowder Rods, Stuart, FL. Best on the plsnet

Long Live The Judge

Thinking of moving to Florida? Don't........
pal Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
You would do well to start with a reliable casting reel at least as good as a Penn 3/0:

[Linked Image]

For a rod look at a 1-piece, 6-1/2'-7', 30-50 lb.

"There's more to optics than meets the eye."--anon

"...most of us would be better off losing half a pound around the waist than half a pound on our rifle."--dhg

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
it depends on what you're fishing for.

God bless Texas-----------------------
Old 300
I will remain what i am until the day I die- A HUNTER......Sitting Bull
Its not how you pick the booger..
but where you put it !!
Roger V Hunter
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by pal
You would do well to start with a reliable casting reel at least as good as a Penn 3/0:

While good reels for holding a pile of mono or dacron, if you're using braid the senators are way too big and heavy.

[Linked Image]

A modern 2/0 sized reel will hold 300+ yds of 60-70 pound braid and weighs ~20 oz vs 30+ oz for the senator.

Can't comment on rods as I prefer shorter rods on the boat.

IC B2

K
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
K
Paul what reel is that shown in your picture.

kk alaska