Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
I posted this GR knife I put togeather a few weeks ago. Since that time I traded it to a guy on another site for some 22LR ammo (or so I thought). Anyway the guy didn't have a mail box on his house (or something) and couldn't figure out how to ship ammo (or something) so I Didn't get any ammo and USPS returned my knife.
Instead of getting upset over the deal I took it as a sign that I should just keep this one so I got ambitious and made a sheath for it a couple of days ago.
It's crude in comparison to what the pro's turn out but I'm not a pro, just need a way to carry it.
I made it left handed so I can carry a handgun or sling a rifle on my right side. Not sure how that's gonna work out but it should be OK once I get used to it.

What do you think?

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

GB1

D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
Nothin to be ashamed of thats for sure. Looks alot better than my first attempt. A little hint, a strip of leather in the middle (welt) will help prevent the knife from cutting the stitching. Keep up the good work.

When it comes to knives and guns, what does NEED have to do with it?
M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Looks great.

Dale

Check out my new website

http://www.howemtnknives.com/
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by DaleAtkerson
A little hint, a strip of leather in the middle (welt) will help prevent the knife from cutting the stitching.

[Linked Image]
I use horse hide for the welt. It's cheap and tuff.
The welt on this one is cut to also protect the inside row of stitching.

The thing that gives me the most grief is burnishing the edges (obviously).
I've tried a few different ways but just can't get em as smooth as the pro's.

W
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
W
Sharp!!!

Molon Labe
IC B2

M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M