Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
R
REDMAN Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
R
I have taken 3 with a scoped rifle, 2 with a haw-ken rifle and 2 with a 44 mag pistol in 30 yrs of hunting. Some times your just lucky

Last edited by REDMAN; 08/31/15.

Marine Corps, Mason, NRA Life Member & Cherokee
May you always know the Great Spirit is with you.
Years ago I swore an oath to defend the constitution against all enemies foreign & DOMESTIC and no one has relieved me of that oath!
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I've been hunting for 27 years. Never taken a running shot on one that I hadn't already put at least one bullet in when not running. Shot two heart-shot bucks with second shots and broke them down. One through the neck, one through the hips. I could still see them running, so I was still shooting. Bolt actions both times.

I'm just not practiced up enough to warrant shooting an non-wounded running deer unless it was maybe buckshot in a shotgun.

Now with even more aplomb
C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
65 plus years hunting in country where we needed hounds and jump dogs, I would say 80 % have been on moving or Running Deer.

M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
this will be my 54th year hunting deer prob 60% running shots, No big deal been shooting running game since I was 5. This on whitetail, muleys a little different bit of an odd pattern to follow there just takes a little more time.

R
REDMAN Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
R
i have to admit, one of them with a pistol was on a wounded deer i had shot 1 hour before with a rifle that i had been tracking

Years ago I swore an oath to defend the constitution against all enemies foreign & DOMESTIC and no one has relieved me of that oath!
IC B2

B
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
B
I've never shot one running. Don't think I could keep them in the scope.

However, a few of the Deer where walking or moving along. Only a few were doing what I would call a run.