Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Hi all,

I have a lot of experience with freshwater fishing/ski/wake boats, but next to nothing with respect to west coast saltwater fishing boats. I have notice a lot of different styles and makes when fishing on Vancouver Island and often wondered what a good family fishing boat would be out there? We have been thinking about getting a new boat next year and I wondered if it would be possible to get something equally at home on the west coast as it would be on freshwater lakes. Is there a boat that would be capable to take the family fishing out on the west coast but also be at home pulling the kids for watersports or would it compromise too much either way?

I noticed a lot of Hewescraft out there but I know next to nothing about them, what their competitors are, or how they all stack up. Anyone care to educate me?

SS

"To be glad of life because it gives you a chance to love and to work and to play and to look up at the stars. To be satisfied with your possessions but not content with yourself until you have made the best of them."
-Henry Van Dyke
GB2

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I have a Hewescraft ProV with the extended transom.
Its my second one, bigger then the first. Nothing wrong with the first one.

It's darn confidence inspiring to be sure. Much louder hitting waves then fiberglass, but then I can beach it in the sandy shore which I cannot with a fiberglass boat.

Hewescraft have kind of become the standard where there are better ( more expensive) and lower price and quality out there. Northwest Jet boats or Duckworth might be the higher end of similar design. However they are usually 30-50% more and also usually require more HP for the same length due to the additional heavier weight aluminum. I'm getting 6 MPG with a Yamaha 115hp that can get me to upper 30's mph at 4500 RPM