Print Thread
Hop To
Creeker Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
By Bob Hertzel

FOR THE REGISTER-HERALD

MORGANTOWN — Once upon a time Ginny Thrasher thought she’d be the next Peggy Fleming.

She was growing up and ice skating was her sport.

“I always wanted to go to the Olympics in ice skating,” she said. “Then, about the time I started high school I started shooting.”

That was when she realized that if she was going to have Olympic success, it was going to be as the next Annie Oakley.

Her grandfather took her hunting and she was hooked.

“Ice skating became a hobby and stress reliever when I went to high school,” she said.

The challenge came from shooting, but who could have imagined in four years this petite blonde, just 19 years of age, would become the NCAA rifle champion as a West Virginia freshman and now a member of the U.S. Olympic team.

“This first year of college has been such a learning experience, such a whirlwind,” she said.

Think of it. Most kids come to college and get used to a new roommate, being off by themselves, maybe sneaking off for a beer or two ... growing up.

Ginny Thrasher came to college and became one of America’s top shooters -- if not THE top shooter. Next Tuesday, while her classmates are in class, she’s leaving for Brazil, site of the Olympics, for the Olympic test event.

But there’s something very interesting in this young lady.

Is she excited? Yes.

Is she blown away? Nervous? Awed? Not one iota.

“It’s nice to be so supported by the Morgantown community and WVU,” she said. “People come up and stop me, congratulate me. The other days, someone wanted to get a selfie with me. It’s nice get attention, especially in a sport that is not so well publicized.

“But has it changed me? No.

First I’m a student-athlete. Like I’m going to be missing these two weeks of class but its nice that the teachers are accommodating me.” She has remained very much down to earth.