Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
K
OP Offline
K
Hi All,

I have been hunting for 21 years but would like to start back pack hunting in the near future. I live in NJ and hunt here and this year will hunt the Adirondacks with a friend. We have also been purchasing preference points in Wyoming for a few years planning a few trips there. So far I have purchased the Kifaru Sawtooth tent and medium stove with mosquito net. I am looking for recommendations on sleeping bag, sleeping pad, pack and a good packable down jacket. Please let me know thoughts and suggestions on these and any other items you feel important to mention. I am 6'3" and 220lbs when recomending gear.

I like the kifaru 0 degree slick bag but not sure about the weight for a long bag.

I also really like the kifaru G2 siwash bag if anyone is selling one.

I have no idea about the sleeping pad, or down jacket.

Thanks for your help in advance...

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I'd personally go with a 20 degree bag unless you're planning on doing hunts later in the season; they are for the most part quite a bit lighter and pack down a lot smaller. I use a Mountain Hardwear Ultra Lamina 20* and it's been great for the past 2 seasons. Kifaru's Slick 20 is a sweet bag, too.

Kif has updated their pack designs a LOT since the Siwash, I'd personally look around for a lightly used Duplex frame and a bag like the DT2, DT1, Mountain Warrior, or AMR. Their internal framed T2 and T1s are awesome packs too and can be found for cheap... Lots of options on packs though. Stone Glacier would be another I looked into.

I like the Thermarest Neo-Air pads with a closed cell pad under for a little extra insulation, but it's not 100% necessary in my opinion.

I use the First Lite Uncompahgre puffy jacket, packs down nice and tight and is extremely warm in my experience.

Hope that helps some.

Tanner

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker