Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
So I just ordered in a barreled uppper reciever for my Palmetto State lower my son gave me. Total newbie to the world of AR's here. My first question is, if I choose to hunt deer with this, and want to try a different caliber besides .223, what calibers can I get and still use this lower without modifying? I'm wondering about 6.5 Grendel? I'd just purchase another complete upper as long as I could drop it on to this receiver.

Thanks guys.

Last edited by gophergunner; 04/14/16.

molɔ̀ːn labé skýla
ARIC

R
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
R
Pretty sure it will work, but you'll need different magazines.

D
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
D
You can run anything that is in the AR 15 family 204,20 practical,6.8 spc 2,6.5 Grendel, 6x6.8,and alot more wildcat rounds.

Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
I'm thinking that Grendel would make a decent hunting round.

molɔ̀ːn labé skýla
R
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
R
If legal, where you are, 223 and good bullets will kill any deer that ever walked....

We can keep Larry Root and all his idiotic blabber and user names on here, but we can't get Ralph back..... Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over....
IC B2

R
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
R
If he's in Minnesota, it would be.

We may know the time Ben Carson lied, but does anyone know the time Hillary Clinton told the truth?

Immersing oneself in progressive lieberalism is no different than bathing in the sewage of Hell.
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Joe Bob's has what appears to be a good deal on a 6.5 upper. Complete with BCG and charging handle for $500. No personal experience with that brand.

6.5 Upper at Joe Bob's

Mercy ceases to be a virtue when it enables further injustice. -Brent Weeks

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker