Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
S
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
S
Yes, websterparish47, when I was a paramedic in Georgia we were taught that about 50 percent of bites from poisonous snakes were non envenomated. That is, the snake did not inject poison.
'Ol copperhead got scared and bit the guy but at the last moment realized he couldn't kill a human, or, if he did, couldn't eat him so did not release venom.
Among the three major species in America, the rattlesnake has the most poisonous venom, the cottonmouth is second, and the copperhead is third.
So, almost impossible for a human to die by copperhead bite.

My 32 pound dog got nailed on the forearm by a copperhead, took her to the vet. He loaded her up on antibiotics but did not administer antivenin. Said, it was nearly impossible even for a small dog to be killed by a copperhead.
It was nasty, the wound got laid open and festered for a week or more, really nasty, but then it healed up and my poor doggie was ok once again.

So, safe to say the mother in law will recover. I hope she does well.

By the way, if you are ever in a situation in which you fear someone was bitten by a poisonous snake, the number one symptom is swelling. Massive swelling.
I have seen a man who was bitten by a Georgia timber rattler, his forearm was the size of a football.

Massive swelling within 10 minutes. If you are dealing with a snake bite, and 20 minutes have passed and there is redness etc, but no swelling, you can relax. Get the dead snake if possible and head up to the ER, get a tetanus shot and call it a night.
No swelling no poison.

And, why should you be cautious about managing a snake bite? Because the antivenin is a powerful drug. Did you know that some people are allergic to antivenin? Did you know that some people die because they are given antivenin?

Be rational, and be careful about trusting your fate to the tender mercies of the docs and nurses in the ER.