Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
B
Hey guys, I'm new to the savage 99 game, and have my first one on the way. Always wanted one, finally pulled the trigger. Anyway, I think it's a 99R, in decent shape, chambered in 250-3000 savage. Serial number is 643xxx, lever boss appears to have an "N" in the circle(based on pics sent to me). I'm thinking from all the reading I've been doing that this will have a 1 in 14 twist. Given that, and my desire to hunt deer with it, what bullets would be best? Will 100gr Sierra pro hunters stabilize and shoot decent? Or should I give the 90gr hollow point Sierra game kings a try? Those appear to be the shortest bullets I can find, without hunting down some 87gr Speer hot cores. Second, based on the few pics I recieved of the rifle, it appears it may be missing a screw, right above the brass counter in the reciever. Are those hard to come by? If that screw is indeed missing, what all else might be missing(i.e. What does it hold together, or what is its function)? I know that's a tough question to answer without seeing anything, and I'll post up some good pics when it gets here. In the mean time, I'm just trying to get a jump on things, and have it ready to shoot as soon as I can. I'm a little bit excited, lol.

Oh, almost forgot. The rifle is coming with an old savage 4x scope. Anyone have any experience with those? Are they functional? Might be kind ofneat to keep it vintage, if it's not a hunk of junk.

Oh, and believe it or not, deer bite. Fairly hard.
GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
The screw above the cartridge counter holds the rotary magazine adjusting disc in place. Without the screw there won't be any tension on the magazine and it won't feed cartridges from the magazine. The screws are available and adjusting the tension on the mag is no big deal. If the rotary mag is missing then you've got some expense.
That serial # should have a D lever boss code. David

wyo1895