Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
C
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
C
Before I get to serious about buying a compact to midsize spotter to carry to the field this fall. I would like your feedback as to whether or not you use one when you are elk hunting a new or area you are not real familiar with.

I'm still learning how to hunt elk, wondering if I could improve my chances by just sitting in a spot and patiently using a spotter. I know the "spot" makes all the difference, so I'm still learning what makes a great "spot".

The areas I've hunted and likely hunting this fall have been a mix of fields (parks), meadows, quakies, dark timber and not the more open type areas I see on TV in AZ or NM.

So if you have minute.. reply.

Your feedback is appreciated.

"...buzzards gota eat same as worms" Josey Wales
NRA lifer
Hunting is Conservation
RMEF Member
GB1

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I use my binocs and a camera. Binocs are easier to use than a spotter. If I see something that needs a closer look, I zoom it in and take a pic with the camera. Then I can blow it up 8x on the screen for a good look.

β€œIn a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
S
SLM Offline
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
I use them only if trying to evaluate something already spotted.

A good binocular on a tripod is much easier to use and stay behind.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Meat hunt - no spotter because any elk will do.

Hunting for a specific size critter or in REALLY open country, yes. A spotter can save a lot of walking.

Originally Posted by shrapnel
I probably hit more elk with a pickup than you have with a rifle.

Originally Posted by JohnBurns
I have yet to see anyone claim Leupold has never had to fix an optic. I know I have sent a few back. 2 MK 6s, a VX-6, and 3 VX-111s.
B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B