Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
C
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
C
Need some advice from the group on my first custom rifle build. I have a good idea of what I want, but would like some opinions on the best way to go about it. While I do not mind spending money for quality, I would like to avoid spending too much in areas that are not necessary to accomplish my goals for the rifle.

The chambering will be .257 Weatherby Magnum. It will be a carry gun for whitetail and I would like to keep things under 8 pounds scope included. As far as accuracy goes I would like to see 1/2 MOA, 3/4 MOA max.

Here are my thoughts on how to get there. Let me know what you think. Feel free to lambaste me if I'm way off base, I'm a noob and I know it. I wont take offense.

Action- Rem 700 is what I'm thinking because it seems like an easy starting point from what I have read. Couple of questions here. Am I better off buying a naked action or buying a cheaper model 700 complete rifle. If I buy just an action I would have to buy bottom metal and magazine components correct? Regardless of how I acquire the action, I plan to have my smith blueprint it for the sake of accuracy. I like a 2.5 to 3 pound trigger hunting and am not particular about triggers as long as it wont detract from accuracy goals. Would a tuned factory trigger be acceptable or is an aftermarket trigger a must?

Barrel- This would be the first barrel I have ever purchased and I am pretty much clueless here. From what I have read I know I should be getting a 26" to take advantage of the velocity of this cartridge. My initial plan was to take my gunsmiths suggestion on a stainless barrel that will suit my needs. I am thinking fluted to save weight. Gunsmith will be Tim Smith of Warren PA, not sure if anyone here knows of him but he seems to be very knowledgeable and helpful.