Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
R
In full disclosure while I have been reloading for a few years- this is my first attempt to load with very little data I cobbled together.

Rifle is a Kimber 8400 Tactical in .308.

I had a hard time finding reliable load data for 155gr Scenars and RL-15. So I averaged a few numbers I did find, and started a few grains lower at 41gr and loaded 15 rounds of each increasing up to 44grains- all kissing the lands. Had the opportunity to shoot at 200 yards and over a Chrony last weekend and gave it a go. 41gr was giving me the most accurate groups, followed by 43. 42 and 44 opened up a bit. With 41gr I was getting approx 2500 fps, which from what I have read is very slow. Seems most people shooting 155's are looking for speed more closer to 3k. I have read that if you use too little powder you can increase pressure, which judging by the visual brass inspection, I believe I was safe. Should I just go with the slower load or search for more accuracy with faster speeds?

This won't be for huniting, just target shooting out to 600 yards.

Last edited by robertham1; 07/01/16.
GB1

R
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
R
41 grains @200

[Linked Image]

42 grains @ 200
[Linked Image]

43gr @ 200

[Linked Image]

R
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
R
I should also say that with 44gr of RL-15 I was getting approx 2700fps still with no signs of pressure.

I have since found more people loading this same combo up to 47gr- which gives me confidence in the higher end of the spectrum.

Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
Seat your bullet in 20-30 thousands and see how it shoots.Seating a bullet touching the lands can have a big effect on velocity and pressure.It can be like adding a grain or two of powder.This link from Hornady will explain this.
http://www.hornady.com/ballistics-resource/internal

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~