Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
284LUVR Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Guys, I have a #10 (6 pound) can of tomato sauce along with several cans of San Marzano tomatoes that have been languishing on my shelves and I'd like to try my hand at making my own spaghetti sauce. I have all the usual spices on hand but I'm a rank amateur at proportioning such a large, for me, amount.

Looking for some guidance.Quite awhile back I whipped up some off an internet recipe and it was downright boring.

Last edited by 284LUVR; 07/15/16.

GB2

A
add Offline
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
A
Can't help you with measurements as I don't really do them.

But you won't go wrong by sauteing some onions in a pan with oo or bacon fat, adding some dried Italian herbs, salt, crushed red pepper flakes, garlic, and some anchovies. De-glaze with red vino, then add your canned sauce to that.

The canned tomatoes can be roasted in the oven. Prep them with some oo, salt, garlic, herbs, etc. Once caramelized, take out of the oven, de-glaze roasting pan/tray with red vino, then add to your simmering sauce.

A good way to build some depth of flavor.

Epstein didn't kill himself.

"Play Cinnamon Girl you Sonuvabitch!"

Biden didn't win the election.
284LUVR Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Thanks add, that's the kind of help I'm looking for.

Keep 'em coming friends.

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
BTW, Dan's sauce is awesome.

Here's an easy one.

Pasta with Italian Sausage, Tomatoes, and Cream

Ingredients:

for 2 servings. Incrementally adjust ingredients for larger groups.

1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 lb sweet (or hot) Italian sausage link, casings removed,crumbled
1/4 teaspoon crushed dried red pepper flakes
1/4 cup diced onion
1 1/2 cloves garlic, minced
1 (14 1/2 ounce) can Italian plum tomatoes, drained,coarsely chopped (prefer Tutorosso or Cento whole and peeled)
3/4 cup whipping cream (low fat works fine)
1/4 teaspoon salt