Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
I am a newbie to sailboats. I figure it is alot like learning to fly, seeing the sails are airfoils, so I am comfortable with the aerodynamics. I'm thinking I just need a few hands on lessons from an experienced sailor and I can pick it up. My question is this . . . I am looking to buy a home in Pensacola Fl for retirement in the next two years. I would like to sail as my retirement hobby. Do you sail boat owners recommend I start with an 18-23 footer to learn on, then sell it to buy a larger boat, or go with a 27-32 footer to learn on,? Here are some of the boats I have been considering . . .

18 footers

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

23 footers

[Linked Image]

32 footer

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

"All that the South has ever desired was that the Union, as established by our forefathers, should be preserved, and that the government, as originally organized, should be administered in purity and truth." – Robert E. Lee
GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Start with a small boat and learn the basics, then keep in mind it's tough to sail a larger boat without knowledgeable help.

One shot, one kill........ It saves a lot of ammo!
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter