Print Thread
Hop To
R
Robster Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
R
Any reviews, good or bad on the Alps OutdoorZ packs?

How many cu in would you recommend for a two night backpack trip. Whether it be fishing or small game hunting.

Looking to get a bigger pack for a couple night stay and don't want to over buy in price or size.

Thanks

Life is but the memories we've created.....Sully Erna
BP-B2

KC Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I have no experience with Alps Mountaineering gear.

I think the best value matching comfort, quality, utility, and cost, is provided by Osprey packs. I have an Osprey Aether 70 and an Osprey Aether 85. I would use the 70 for the applications that you inquired about. The Osprey Atmos series of packs also looks good and they are a little simpler, which might be desirable.

KC

Wind in my hair, Sun on my face, I gazed at the wide open spaces, And I was at home.

D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
I took an Alps Traverse pack on my elk hunt and was completely satisfied with it. I am not sure if it is big enough for a two night trip, but for a day pack and for packing out game it was great.

A
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
A
A hunting buddy in our group had an Alps "Big Bear" last year, it was a classic example of a dual purpose pack that tried to do "everything" and ended up doing nothing really well.

We didn't rip anything on it, but the day pack bag has no compression straps, so it slops/flops around when its up out of the fanny pack lid. The fanny pack was so-so, but you had the extra bulk and weight of the collapsed day pack that you weren't using. From what I recall, we couldn't reach anything in the fanny pack without taking it off, like water bottles, calls, etc.

I say "we" because we ended trading out the Alps with the guy for our day packs so that the guy could hunt, carry his gear, and have some ability get his hunt in.