Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
i don't usually plant squash but when i bought cumcumber this spring 6 of my plants were labeled wrong and were yellow straight neck squash. i've ate more of the stuff this year than ever before. i have always thought fried squash only tasted like the breading you fry it in and i still do.we egg dip it sliced thin,batter in seasoned flour and fry til golden brown.we had so much of it this year i started playing with other ways to eat it.someone said boil it with onions.i didn't like it at all,kind boils out the little bit of flavor they have to start with.

here's best way i've found

taking a big onion,chop and soak in beef broth,shake of soy sauce and garlic powder for a few hours.slice squash the cut into 4 pcs. season with salt,pepper and a shot of tony catcheres creole. i like to grill it. i have those plestic grill mats advertised on tv but a flat grill pan would work fine.dump the onions on the mat /pan and let them start to cook.as they simmer and start to dry out dump a little more of the beef broth on until they turn clear. add the sqaush and cook just enough to brown a little,don't cook until it gets soggy. dump the whole mixture in a bowl and mix in a garden tomato in chunks. we all like this far better then any other way .

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
Get you an iron skillet and smother them down with onions in bacon grease. Left overs are great warmed up, so cook a big skillet full. Breaded okra added in is good too. miles

Look out for number 1, don't step in number 2.
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Try the casserole recipe I posted a while back.

Slaves get what they need. Free men get what they want.

Rehabilitation is way overrated.

Orwell wasn't wrong.

GOA member
disappointed NRA member

24HCF SEARCH
E
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
E
I fry too, buttermilk, seasoned cornmeal, hot oil.