Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
V
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
V
By necessity I guess. I wanted something for the kids to be able to shoot, so I ended up getting a Glock 17. Of course I started shooting it too and loved it.

One of the biggest reasons these days, is the economical ball ammo and outstanding defensive ammo. What's not to love.

GB1

leomort Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Thank you to all who responded.

If I can play devil's advocate for second. If a high capacity magazine came back limiting you to 10 rounds, would you still select?

T
Campfire Sage
Campfire Sage
T
Originally Posted by leomort

If I can play devil's advocate for second. If a high capacity magazine came back limiting you to 10 rounds, would you still select?

It's still more shootable than .45 ACP or .40 S&W, and will still fit ten where those will fit less, so sure. For example, the single stack, compact, 9mm wouldn't become less popular if mags were limited to 10. Those same sized guns in .40 or .45 are much less enjoyable to shoot, and harder to shoot well (not to mention having less capacity).

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
you can carry a spare 10 round 9mm magazine in your pocket easier than a spare 10 round 45ACP magazine.

Truth for me is that you read that trauma surgeons really cannot tell the difference between pistol caliber wounds in the operating room. That major federal, city and state law enforcement agency's are moving to the 9mm. That better bullets abound. If you add it all up with weight saving, shootability of the 9mm, cost, and commonality the 9mm seems to be winning the popularity contest. On the other hand there are perfectly good reason for wanting to fire a cartridge that throws a heavier faster bullet for more penetration, this has more to do with 4 legged animals than two legged animals.

O
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
O
Originally Posted by jimmyp
Wish the SIG .357 was cheaper to shoot smile