Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I've been loading 150gr Sierras for deer/pigs/etc for many years and always had very good results.

I plan to take my son with me elk hunting in 2018. the 7-08 will be the gun he uses most likely. I'd like to load a tougher bullet for elk.

I've tried 150 Partitions, but have not had good luck getting them to group nearly as well as the Sierras do.

Any recommendations here? I'm considering the 139 gr Hornady GMX, or the Barnes 140 TTSX.

If yall have already done extensive testing/research on this choice, I'm open to recommendations.

thanks in advance,

shane

First teach a child to love God, second teach him to love family, third teach him to fish and hunt and by the time he is in his teens no dope dealer under the sun can teach him anything. Cotton Cordell
GB1

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
I haven't used them on elk myself, but always heard good things about the 150 ballistic tip from people I turst, have you tried those? If you go with a TTSX, consider the 120, it seems like those shoot really well with Varget or Big Game in a lot of 7-08s.

A wise man is frequently humbled.

Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I tried the 140 BT, but groups weren't stellar with it either. The Sierra 150's have spoiled me a bit on groups.

the 120 TTSX sounds pretty light for an elk, does it not? obviously, that'd get the velocity on up there.

First teach a child to love God, second teach him to love family, third teach him to fish and hunt and by the time he is in his teens no dope dealer under the sun can teach him anything. Cotton Cordell
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
My impression is the 150 NBT is a bit stouter than the 150 Sierra, but I'd not hesitate to use the Sierra. Can't really see the need for a mono. The 7-08, like the 308, isn't especially tough on projectiles.