-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
Well, at 37 years old I'm basically half dead and post mid-life crisis. I have zero waterfowl hunting experience and the last bird I fired at was a pheasant 16 years ago, I got him. I've gotten back into the hunting scene over the last couple of years. I plan on doing a guided duck/goose hunt in northern California after my yearly pig hunt in early January.
I currently own a Mossberg 590 that I occasionally blast some clay pigeons with but having an eight shell tube I didn't buy it for mallards. It's for Chinese invasion and L.A. riots, I refer to it as my urban hunting weapon. LOL!
I'm looking to purchase a semi-auto 12 gauge in late December. I'm a roadie, not that Showtime series bullshit, the real deal. I'll be on tour with a band on the eastern half of the U.S. until the end of the year. I usually have Monday and Tuesdays off so the plan is to rent a car, purchase the gun, some ammo, a cleaning kit and gun case; then spend some time at a local clay pigeon range before cleaning the gun and shipping it to an FFL in Redondo Beach, CA. I fly home January 1st and have work on the 8th. That basically gives me January-

1st to unpack/repack and pick up the gun.
2nd a couple hours at the range then a 10 hour drive north.
3rd pig hunt
4th bird hunt
5th bird hunt
6th drive 10 hours home and unpack, clean and restock gear.
7th butcher and package meat.
8th that thing that pays for these adventures.

I'll have some money to throw at this. I was originally planning on a gun in the $1000-$1200 range but I'm pretty hard on everything in my life so I'm willing to spend a little more for durability and reliability.

So, after all that, what gun should I buy ladies and gentlemen?

If it was easy, everybody would do it.
GB1

B
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
B
Originally Posted by Stick1330