Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
S
My plan is to mix venison with about 20-25% pork butt. Pork butt will add flavor and fat.
Suggestions are appreciated as this is my first attempt.

My biggest fear is when I die my wife will sell my guns for what I told her they cost.
GB1

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
If I ask in advance, my local butcher will save me the fat trimmings from beef. I really prefer that to pork fat when making venison burger. 10% beef fat seems to work well for me. What I am trying to do, is keep the Venison flavor, but also keep the patty from falling apart on the grill
I have had success also with just adding in a couple of eggs, some fine diced onion, and bread crumbs. Just like when you make meat loaf.

Sam......

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
My best advice is to try your idea and Sam's. Then you will know what you like. I like to mix a pound of bacon with Sam's and if you want to get an idea what it would be like, just fry a few strips of bacon and then fry a patty in the grease. Your mix just needs a 50/50 ratio, a cup and 1/2 buttermilk, to 10lbs mix, and the proper spices to make breakfast sausage to die for.

A PHD Won't help you if you don't know what the hell you are talking about.
G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
I grind pork butt with my venison, 3 parts venison to 1 part pork butt. I also add meatloaf ingredients (egg, buttermilk, onion and breadcrumbs) to my burger before forming into patties for the grill. After grilling to taste as far a doneness I like to add one slice of american cheese and one slice of pepper jack, sea salt and coarse ground pepper and serve on a lightly toasted kaiser roll.

byc Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
what temps do you guys cook these pork/venison burgers too?

I would think with pork being involved you'd pretty much be limited to nothing rare or even medium rare. No?

Proud to be a true Sandlapper!!

Go Nats!!!!

IC B2

Campfire 'Bwana