24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
H
OP Offline
H
Hey everyone. I am ready for the bear hunt this spring in NB. I'm taking my bow on a guided hunt over bait. Does anyone have suggestions on how much to tip the guide??

BP-B2

W
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
W
How2, if you have not been welcomed to the "fire", welcome now.

No help on hunting the bear, nor tipping.

Enjoy the trip, and the entire experience, man, and boy, I've been enjoying Canada since 1949.

I'll say go for the sport, make friends, and learn from the different culture. Just be yourself, and respect all.

These premises insured by a Sheltie in Training ,--- and Cooey.o
"May the Good Lord take a likin' to you"
J
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
J
I have a friends who guide for bear in NB. The consensus is they understand every client has different means and they appreciate any tip. I'd say base it on effort put into giving you a great experience. Liquor, tobacco and any other gifts that are cheaper on your side of the medicine line will almost always be appreciated. Contact your outfitter.
In case you haven't been told two things are almost guaranteed with spring bears in NB, blackflies and mosquitoes. A thermacell and mesh bug jacket would be good to bring along.
Enjoy your hunt and who are you going with?

H
OP Offline
H
Taxis river outfitters

C
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
C
I've hunted for bears in NB many times. I typically spend time with hunters who have traveled in from virtually all over the U.S. and are hunting the same week as my buddies and I.

This question comes up all the time. Most hunters seem to just want to tip in an appropriate way. They don't want to short-change the guide or over-tip. Assuming that your guide does as good a job as you expected, a 10% tip is fairly common.

It's not unusual to tip a bit more if you are lucky enough to take a particularly nice bear, or to tip less when services don't meet your expectations.