Topic Options
#11977846 - 04/17/17 Newbie kayak owner questions
Calhoun Offline
Campfire Oracle

Loc: Eastern Nebraska
Okay, bought another toy I probably won't end up using as much as I would like. But going to give it a try.

Got a 12' fishing kayak coming, the Field & Stream Eagle Talon. Mostly for use on a 50 acre fishing lease I'm on, big largemouth (for Nebraska) and bluegill, some crappie. Had a single person inflatable pontoon, and I loved fishing from it but it rows like a barge. Just too slow to get around in.

So I'm going to want a paddle, obviously, and sounds like replacing the seat is something pretty much all the owners agree with. But I'm a total newbie for this stuff. What should I be looking for in a paddle, and what price range? And any hints on a seat that will provide decent back support without breaking the bank?

Oh yeah.. also suggestions for roof rack carriers? Thule looks great, if I want to spend more money on the carrier than I did on the kayak. grin

Waiting on it to arrive, but this is what it will look like.

RV 728 BP
#11979792 - 04/18/17 Re: Newbie kayak owner questions [Re: Calhoun]
oklahunter Offline
Campfire Regular

You may want to think about mounting a small trolling motor. It's just easier to fish if you don't have to mess with a paddle all the time, picking it up, putting it down, not having it float away, tangling a tether, etc. You can save the battery by paddling to where you'll start fishing and then secure the paddle and switch to using the trolling motor. Since you are not focusing on kayaking, just get an inexpensive aluminum shaft kayak paddle like you'll find at any canoe/kayak float outfitter.

#11986121 - 04/20/17 Re: Newbie kayak owner questions [Re: Calhoun]
LouisB Offline
Campfire Ranger

Loc: TN
OPEN arm Life Jacket

The kind of water you are going to fish makes for different rigging.
IF you are not on white water the a paddle leash/tether is handy.
See of you can spray foam your paddle so it will float.