Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
O
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
O
I'm new to pre- 64 M70's, but not to M70's entirely having had a push- feed 338 Win for a few years. Picked this one up yesterday in a little store here in rural Oregon for $600 out the door; I'm thinking a receiver sight will be replacing the scopechief. I'd like to know more about this rifle; the tang looks different from other M70's, as does the safety wing; when did Winchester stop marking barrels "30 GOVT 06?" Any tips for loads? It came with a coffee can full of brass.

Here are some pictures:

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Markings are definitely "old timey," alot like the markings on my Colt Officer's Model Match 38spl and my older Smith and Wessons.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

The bore is clean and bright, so I think from looks of this stock that this gun was hunted more than shot. I'm about the opposite, shooting far more than I hunt.

[Linked Image]

Bottom metal tells the same story:

[Linked Image]

And the tang:

[img]http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a18/oregon45/DSCN2776.jpg[/img]

And a better look at the safety:

[img]http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a18/oregon45/DSCN2777.jpg[/img]

Last edited by Oregon45; 04/07/07.
GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I'm not a M70 expert by any means but yours looks more like a pre-war rifle. There are several sites you can Google where the serial numbers and dates of manufacture are listed to give you a better idea. It looks exactly like one I just sold and I got a whole lot more for mine than what you paid.

Used to be bobski, member since '01
O
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
O
I went to a serial number search engine online and it said 1947 for the date of manufacture; might have been the plant using up pre- war parts after resuming civilian production?