NIKON PROSTAFF - 480 CLICKS OF CAN-DO!

Page 2 of 26 < 1 2 3 4 25 26 >
Topic Options
#2272114 - 06/24/08 Re: show us your shotguns [Re: Redneck]
SnowHunter Offline
Campfire Ranger

Loc: up a creek
Dang yall, thems some gorgeous shotguns!!!! Phew, absolutely amazing!!!

RV 728 BP
#2272117 - 06/24/08 Re: show us your shotguns [Re: Redneck]
pullit Offline
Campfire Guide

Loc: Middle/West Tennessee
Redneck
I am not a stock expert but I think the amonia bring out the color in the wood. I know stock makers also steam the wood to do the same type thing.
Cowboy (or anybody else)please correct me if I am wrong about this.

I have a shotgun so I have no need for a 30-06.....

#2272121 - 06/24/08 Re: show us your shotguns [Re: pullit]
pullit Offline
Campfire Guide

sharpnel
you do have some very nice older shotguns, that is for sure. I have seen several nice older guns but as you said it is hard to find "clean" ones. Looks like you sure did....

#2272463 - 06/24/08 Re: show us your shotguns [Re: pullit]
Redneck Offline
Campfire Oracle

Loc: WI. - for now..
 Originally Posted By: pullit
Redneck
I am not a stock expert but I think the amonia bring out the color in the wood. I know stock makers also steam the wood to do the same type thing.

Really.... I love to learn something new every day..

The stock below belongs to my second most favorite shotgun; an SKB M800.These were built circa 1980 also.. A guy in Michigan put this up for sale about 5 years ago. I had not seen a M800 before and the condition and price were excellent so I bought it.. Long story short, I could see some faint, nearly black lines in the buttstock, so I removed the wood and finish ( I don't care for urethanes on my shotguns) and noticed that it had been stained with a darker stain that actually covered the grain.. I removed it all, had Sherry Abraham clean up the checkering and refinished it in satin tung oil..

IMHO, this wood is outstanding and should be shown, not hidden with stain..