Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Ebby Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Hey guys, looking for some advice. I have been batting around ideas for my 2010 Fall hunt and was looking for some advice. I have toyed with lots of stuff (Mtn Goats, Muleys, Deer Combo, Bear, and Elk). I then started thinking that I might take my Wife to one the many lodges that have spas and fantastic meals and accommodations. It would keep me out of trouble a little bit since we just had our 3rd child and I will pay for it a little if I am gone for 10+ days in one stretch this fall.

I understand that I will way overpay for the Elk hunt and I of course am more of a DIY type hunter but I am looking to stay out of trouble! I have not Elk hunted before and killed my first Muley on a DIY public ground hunt this yr. I have hunted a lot and mostly hunt Whitetails and Turkeys with my bow. I am fairly young and have no problem running up and down the mountains.

I have looked at Lodge at Chama, Kessler Canyon, and Three Forks Ranch. Anybody got any info on any of these places? Where do I stand the best chance of getting a 300+ Bull? Is that even realistic? Are there better places out there? Thanks again guys.
Lee

GB1

S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
Vermijo Ranch, Luxury to the T,big bulls. Of the three mentioned,probably the Lodge at Chama.Three Forks is noted for a lot of elk,not necessarily monsters.

If God wanted you to walk and carry things on your back, He would not have invented stirrups and pack saddles
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Vermejo...

Ben

Some days it takes most of the day for me to do practically nothing...
Ebby Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Thanks guys, I'll check out Vermejo. I forgot to mention that I am only interested in free-range hunts. No fences. I'm not sure about Vermejo but the other 3 I mentioned are. Anybody know about Vermejo? Thanks

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular