Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
B
Can anyone tell me where I can find a list of Wetterling axe dealers? I can't find a list of dealers anywhere and would like to look at these axes before I decide to buy one.
I'm looking for one in Washington or Oregon...or Idaho.
Thanks for any effort...like I say, I've Googled and read stuff, but to no avail.

I may have to spend the money and get a Granfors Bruks, but I can't find a dealer around here for them, either.

Last edited by Bulletbutt; 03/03/10.

I saw a movie where only the military and the police had guns. It was called Schindler's List.
GB1

jpb Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Can't much on a local dealer, but have you tried here for their "find a local vendor"

I think the Gransfors Bruks and the Wetterling seem similar as regards the heads (but I am no expert!) with perhaps the Gransfors Bruks being ground/forged so that the blade is a bit slimmer for a longer distance from the edge before it thickens.

However, I have seen some Wetterling axes and hatchets that had very poor grain layout in the handle and would soon break. Never seen a Gransfors with really bad grain layout (and both are common here in Swedish stores so I have looked at more than a few). No big deal if you can select your item in person, but be careful buying from the web. You indeed have the right idea!

I will say that the Gransfors Bruks seems to have a more fanatical following (both here in Sweden and in North America)! There might be a good basis for that, but I do not know.

I toured Gransfors Bruks, and I had a real nice chat with one of the 'smiths who make the heads. The company even offers a course in forging, but alas my timing was bad so I could not take it. Neat company anyway -- well worth an afternoon visit if you find yourself here in the land of pretty blonde women... smile

John

B
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
B