Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 12 13
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
How many sheep hunters do we have here? It's something I'd like to do someday, but don't really know anything about it. The species really wouldn't matter to me, I'd just like the experience.

If you wanted to do a sheep hunt in 10-20 years, what would you do? I don't know anything about draw odds or prices so fill me in, although all that will likely change before I get the chance to go in 10 years or so.

Anybody got any pics or stories to share?

Originally Posted by SBTCO
your flippant remarks which you so adeptly sling
GB1

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
I have no experience, but my dream is to take the slam. I guess growing up reading O'Connor did it to me.

But that's far fetched, so the first I want to go after, given a choice, is a Stone, the second a Dall.

Bill

Last edited by tx270; 06/26/10.
K
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
K
I don't know you but I would guess that the most accessible sheep hunting experience would be Barbary Sheep in Texas.
Then I would go for Mongolia Ibex. This is a world class mountain animal that is a heck of a bargain right now.
Then I would go to Azerbajian for Tur.
Finish the score with a Brooks Range Dall Sheep hunt. Old Sheep hunters never die they just go up and hunt the Brooks Range.

Now the bad part is that all of that hunting would be less than a single Stone Sheep hunt, a single Open Guided Rocky Mountain Sheep hunt in Alberta or much less than a Desert Sheep hunt in Mexico.

Luck or lots of time and money scouting or figuring out the learning curve is connected with the last three.

Sincerely,
Thomas

R
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
R
My goal is to kill one bighorn and one 'thinhorn'.

I've lived my entire life smack dab in the middle of the best bighorn units in the US, so figure one day I'll draw here.