Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
R
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
R
I would agree with reelman. Unless it is really beat I would keep as is. One thing not commopnly known today is the use of the foreend screw. Jack OConner One wrote something to this effect, that this was a bedding devise that could exert more or less pressure on the barrel depending on the snugness. His advise was to check accuracy at varing degress of snugness. I have tried it and it works. I have been shooting Pre 64s since 1961 and have never had one that with a little load fiddling that would not shoot one inch or less. Initially I tried the bed and free float routine trying for perfection. They seldom shot any better, but i sure did destroy any collector value.

GB1

A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
Well, your sticking your neck out when you predict the accuracy of any rifle, as some will shoot well and others will not..but my experience with a pre 64 Mod. 70 and I have literally owned hundreds of them over the years and don't recall but one bad one that I had when I was about 13 years old, and it shot 4 inch groups on average, and I killed a ton of deer with it, some at very long range. come to think of it maybe the 4 inch groups were caused by the loose nut behind the recoil pad.

Most can use a little tweeking in the bedding has been my experience, but then that could apply to all rifles.

P
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
P
Hello,