Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
G
I am determined to go elk hunting next year and I am trying to start planning on where I should go in Wyoming. I have one year preference so i figured i will be drawn for the general tag.

I have been looking a lot at the Units and I see alot start in October. I was wondering when the Elk rut generally runs in Wyoming? I plan on archery hunting mainly but might go back with a rifle if unsuccessful.

I was wondering if anyone can point me to a good unit to check out. This will be my first elk hunt and I have to avoid Wilderness areas bc i dont want to hire a guide and i plan on backpacking in.

I was kinda leaning towards 36 and 37 , 98, 102,102, 107, 128,( 129 i like the sept 1 start date.) But i honestly dont know much about these units. Any info i would greatly appreciate.
I have been telling my self next year i will go for a few years buts its time to fullfill the dream.

GB1

B
B
There are a lot more units that start archery Sept. 1st with the General Elk. I hunted in Unit 21 the first week of September. If I go again I won't go until the third week of September. The weather was way too hot this year for the elk to be talking the first week of September. There was a lot of elk sign I just wasn't able to find any elk. Mostly because I didn't know where to look and I spent a lot of time wondering around trying to learn the area.

I still haven't decided whether or not I am going to apply this year

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
blackraven. Don't give up. I have been up there 2 years in a row now and have yet to shoot one. Although my buddies have. Just have to be in the right place at the right time.