Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
E
EWY Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
E
Originally Posted by docost99
Sorry for the simple question, guys, but I'm just getting started. After running the brass through the tumbler, how do you get all the polishing compound dust out of the cases?

I don't think most people worry about the inside, as far as dust goes. Wipe down the outside before sizing. For bottleneck cases I also lube the inside of the case neck before resizing (lube the case body too of course). After resizing and depriming I run my cases through the tumbler again to remove the case lube. I check the flash holes to make sure that none of the media is lodged in them.

Ernie

George Washington - �Labour to keep alive in your breast that little spark of celestial fire,�conscience.�

God save the Republic
GB1

N
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
N
I don't have a problem with dust from walnut media from Pet Smart as long as I run the cleaner long enough to get the cases slick and clean. I only have a problem when I don't run it long enough. I use a small Allen wrench to pick out the media stuck in the flash holes.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by curdog4570
Toothpicks are cheap and plentiful.

Another toothpick man here laugh

Quando Omni Moritati
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
+1 to the dryer sheets.

Make sure to use the used ones, they have much more porosity to collect dust. I cut mine up into 1-2" squares for better distribution.

I also "recharge" my media with a capful of Nu-Finish, the car stuff, every other load or so.

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
This makes tumbling sound like a whole lot of work just to have pretty cases. I couldn't care less how pretty they are as long as the bullet comes out of the barrel straight.

“In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
IC B2

C
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
C