Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
bxroads Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I've always worked in an environment that requires dress shoes. Seven months ago I switched jobs and began wearing my favorite boot of all time, Kenetrek Hardscrabbles, on a daily basis from sun up till sundown. I've never in my life wore boots on a daily basis. The Hardscrabbles give tremendous ankle support. About three weeks ago I started wearing more casual shoes again. Every since my ankles have been incredibly sore, I can't walk without limping. I attributed the pain to running but I've been running for several years and only since I pulled the boots off did I start to have the ankle pains. Did six months in the boots with such support weaken the ankles? Anyone experienced this?

BP-B2

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
I wear these in all my shoes except my cross trainer Nikes:
[Linked Image]

Don't know if they would help the ankles but are worth a try, and are sold almost everywhere.

MtnHtr

T
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
Originally Posted by bxroads
Did six months in the boots with such support weaken the ankles? Anyone experienced this?

You bet it did. Get yourself some "minimalist" shoes like Vibram 5-fingers, New Balance MX20 or MT20's and start working out in them, you'll get your strength back. Doing barbell squats, burpees, box jumps etc wearing minimalist shoes prevents this.

bxroads Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I wore the boots last night and I could walk normal in them with little pain. Took them off and limped around again. Obviously they are supporting the weak area. I hope recovery / rebuilding strength doesnt take forever. I guess there are some benfits to wearing low cut dress shoes for 15+ years.

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
ive had 3 surgeries on my ankle to rebuild it,the best by far for building up ankles for me is the sketcher shapeup walking shoe.i wear either boots or them