Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
J
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
J
Not being a hunter I have no first hand experience but from my readings I would say at least three writers, since Jack O'Connor specifically said he didn't see any difference in his experience, and I believe Finn Aagaard said much the same thing, IIRC, which makes four writers.

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by BobinNH
I have no basis for comparison other than anecdotal... African animals have a "well deserved reputation" for being tougher than North American game

Hey, what the heck...I'll give it a whack.

Since we are talking anecdotal I will share a few I was graced to hear.

Anecdote One: "Many African animals have a hump. Shooting one of those animals at "the Equator" will result in a high lung shot. Hitting them slightly above the Equator will miss the lungs. In either case, the animal will produce a poor blood trail and take a long-to-very long time to die."

Anecdote Two: "Many African animals are herd animals. They will run with the herd until they fall over. Not like a White tail deer which might scurry off 75 yards and bed down. The herd they run with will churn up the trail and make even a generous blood trail an iffy thing"

Anecdote Three: "You pull the trigger and the tracker finds one molecule of hemoglobin, and you punch the tag and pay the freight."

I don't have the checkbook to hunt Africa. But if I did I would invest at least a couple of hours in learning where the heart/lungs were on any species I was likely to encounter.