Print Thread
Hop To
F
Fraser Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
F
I'm hoping to do some hog hunting in March which I have never done before. I'm also hoping to use a revolver which will be a new experience. I've got a Ruger Redhawk that I'm shooting well and it is what I plan to use.

I've played with loads up to 300 grains at around 1400 fps but it seems that many people are completely happy with 255 grain hard cast bullets at 1200 fps as a general purpose big game load. Is there any reason to go heavier or faster for hog hunting?

"Hail to the King, Baby!"
Ash, Army of Darkness
BP-B2

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
255 at 1200 should EASILY do the job.

Sent from my Dingleberry Handheld Wireless
T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
Will VERY easily do the job. I kill hogs regularly with a SAA loaded with 255 grain hard-cast bullets at 1000 fps.

The same bullet at 200 fps more will do anything you could want and produce less wear and tear on the revolver.....and more importantly....on the shooter. The "full bore" loadings with heavy bullets at "magnum" velosity just aren't nessisary.

I hate change, it's never for the better.... Grumpy Old Men
The more I learn, the more I realize how little I know
C
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
C
I can hardly wait until the little piggies become a bigger problem in Ohio!
Just a few more years and we'll be blastin them too
and havin some sweet BarB que's

"wanna hear God laugh? Tell Him you have complete control now!"
F
Fraser Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
F
Speaking of barbeque, how would people rate Texas pigs as table fare?

I'm going to be flying from Canada to Wichita Falls to visit a friend (who isn't a hunter) and hopefully get in a little side trip to hunt if I can get that worked out. If things go well I wouldn't mind flying back with a cooler full and the rest in his freezer.

Ash, Army of Darkness
IC B2

J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J