Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
V
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
V
Somehow I have missplaced the load suggestions you all have given in the past for loads using the high B.C. Hornady 53 grain V-Max bullets.
I am new to these bullets myself.
Its the winter "reloading" season here in SW Montana and I have a 223 Varminter that I think NEEDS to shoot this bullet.
My Rifle (Remington 700 SPS-V) has a 26" barrel and a Leupold 6.5x20 variable scope on it.
I picked this Rifle up a while back and it has only shot Berger 50 grainers to date.
These Bergers are accurate bullets, but are PRICEY, and the Hornady has a higher B.C (.290).
And I think the Prairie Dogs and Ground Squirrels should really plop when hit with these V-Max bullets - even when these Varmints are "way out there".
Any load suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Hold into the wind
VarmintGuy

BP-B2

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Load it up your ASS.

Originally Posted by captain seafire
I replace valve cover gaskets every 50K, if they don't need them sooner...
Campfire Oracle
Online Content
Campfire Oracle
[Linked Image]

"...the left considers you vermin, and they'll kill you given the chance..." Bristoe
O
OSB Offline
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
O
VG I'd say 25.5 gr of Benchmark should get you real close.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Well I currently have 27 rifles chambered in the wonderful and marvelous .223 caliber cartridge. Most of them are wonderful and marvelous Remingtons with wonderful and marvelous Leupold scopes because all my stuff is the best. My wonderful and marvelous load is................

Long live the .223
blah blah

IC B2

O
OSB Offline
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
O
Goodness a lot of penis envy on here.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
familiarize yourself with the idiot and you'd understand.

B
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
B
If you won't help, I suggest you have the grace to step back and let some one in who will....