Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
1234567 Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Does anyone know, or know how to find out exactly how thick or thin the actual cutting edge needs to be? This would be for a very sharp blade, about like a razor blade.

I have read that the edge thickness needs to be 3 Microns or less, but I don't know how someone would go about measuring it

BP-B2

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
I would say it's also about blade geometry and heat treat with regard to a knife, so not sure just determining edge thickness will "cut it". smile

My understanding and I'm by no means an expert is that they typically use a gaussian beam to get a true edge thickness determination. There may be other means, but that's what I've read to be the true test.

Since you didn't mention the purpose behind your question I may be completely off base, but I think what you may want is a Catra test. I believe if you go to their website they will rent the testing machine or perform tests for you. I have no idea what it costs, or whether what you're trying to do really gets to that level, but catra is the yard stick most use to truly measure how sharp a blade is. For whatever that's worth.

Check out my new website

http://www.howemtnknives.com/
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by mtnman1
I would say it's also about blade geometry and heat treat with regard to a knife, so not sure just determining edge thickness will "cut it". smile

My understanding and I'm by no means an expert is that they typically use a gaussian beam to get a true edge thickness determination. There may be other means, but that's what I've read to be the true test.