24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Spray on moly based mold release agent; 25 years, not a problem; wipe off easily with WD40.

Paste waxes are not even in the same discussion; next best choice is Brownell's spray release agent.

MM

BP-B2

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by ironeagle_84
Mark, i have used Johnsons Pate wax for the last 6 stocks i have bedded.

+1
I've been using the same can of paste wax for almost 15 years and have never had a action stuck in a stock, cleans up fine with a little mineral spirits and a clean rag or paper towels.

Men ocassionaly stumble over the truth from time to time but, most pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing happened.
- Winston Churchill-

NRA Endowment Life Member
D
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
D
This discussion proves, there's more than one way to skin a cat... laugh

DF

B
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
B
Kiwi, very thin and works great

M
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
M
i use turtle wax, works great

IC B2

Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
I think, at this point, that I will be using a combination of Kiwi wax and a coating of the Brownells spray on release agent. Mostly I have to make double sure that I do not create a mechanical lock up with my bedding compound. I think this has been my nemisis in the past.

THANKS again to all who offerd intel and ideas. Much aappreciated. Follow up report to follow when my supplies get here from Brownells.

LOVE God, LOVE your family, LOVE your country, LIKE guns and sports.

About 2016 team "R" candidates "We definitely need a crew with a sack of balls the size of hot water bottles, bloviated estrogen leaking feel-gooders need not apply." Gunner 500
C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Originally Posted by Dirtfarmer
You're a belt AND suspenders kind of a guy... laugh

Not a bad way to be.

DF