D
Originally Posted by shrapnel
Originally Posted by Dirtfarmer
Originally Posted by oldtrapper
Any of you ever see that before?

Never, but I almost missed that one.

And, I'm not a Damascus expert at all.

DF

Edited to add Pieper was a Belgium gun maker. See this link. http://www.24hourcampfire.com/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php/topics/5435981/1 I see some old Pieper Damascus guns on the internet, but their barrels are so dirty, fine details can't be seen.

That may not even be Damascus. It could be a pattern put on the gun to make it look Damascus. In those days, the Damascus gun had a better reputation than the fluid steel barrels of the day...

Hmmm...

Now, that would make a lot of sense. How in the world could a Damascus craftsman repeatedly incorporate letters into his process. I'd think that would be just about impossible. Wonder how they put that pattern in place such that it would last?

DF

BP-B2

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Only 5740 Ithaca Knick SBT's were made.
The nice thing is that they do not sell for stupid money.
My original gun from 1927 was about $1005.
In it's time it was the best of the best and it's like driving a 55 Chevy convertable.

Originally Posted by lovemy99
not to knock the gun AT ALL, as the Ithaca SBTs are great guns, but up through 4Es are really pretty common and don't bring huge money at all. Even the 5-7s don't bring stupid money for the amount of engraving... and it should be noted that Ithaca routinely used much nicer wood on all grades of guns than any other major SxS builder of the era. I have owned or own two Grade 2s and both have exception wood for a pretty basic level of shotgun.

I think the Baker probably would command a bit more just on rarity sake more than anything...Baker doubles like the "black beauty are not uncommon but I certainly don't see a lot of the SBTs around.

just my $.02.