Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Barak Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by Gringo Loco
Originally Posted by JCMCUBIC
I agree with a lot of his thoughts, specifically that development practices taught in higher education should focus on development practices in the development world, NOT focus on trying to change the development practices in the sw development world to meet practices that the education world wants to push.

Amen. It was frustrating to learn Pascal knowing full well that when I graduated everyone was using C/C++.

I did exactly the same thing, with exactly the same languages, except that I'd never heard of C++, until I got the job that required me to learn C. My boss called me into his office, handed me Stroustrup, and said, "Have you ever heard of this language?" I said no, and he said, "Learn it."

So I did. It was eye-opening. My first C++ class was a TIFF codec. I remember that it was frickin' huge (because it included all the possible sub-codecs in the TIFF spec, which is a lot), but I don't really remember enough else about it to sufficiently nauseate me.

Occasionally I wish I could dig that code back up, buy a case of Dramamine, and examine it. I bet it's pretty horrifying.

Originally Posted by nighthawk
You're all giving me an inferiority complex. I'm programming in C after leaving Assembler not that long ago and still using Assembler where speed and size count. But that's microcontrollers where you have to live close to the metal so C is a good fit.

nighthawk, it's been a coon's age since I worked in Assembler.

So to change the subject, does anybody know where that expression--a coon's age--came from? Is it a racial slur, like Jerry-rig or Chinese fire drill or gyp?