NIKON PROSTAFF - 480 CLICKS OF CAN-DO!
 

Topic Options
#7026699 - 10/31/12 can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another?
salasj Offline
Member

Registered: 01/07/12
Posts: 14
Question I picked up my new Rifle that is a Ruger M-77 264 Winchester Magnum 26" Shilen barrel 1-9 twist. Can I fire the loads I developed in my other 264 in this one. I chamber the loads and they feed smooth. Do I have to start low and work up again to see how they do in this rifle?

Top
RV 728 BP
#7027229 - 11/01/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: salasj]
Pharmseller Offline
Campfire Ranger

Registered: 01/19/10
Posts: 2179
Loc: Willamette Valley, Oregon
How close to max are your other loads? If you are pushing it I'd back off with a new rifle.

When in doubt, start low.

P
_________________________
We are determined that before the sun sets on this terrible struggle, our flag will be recognized throughout the world as a symbol of freedom on the one hand, of overwhelming power on the other.
General George C. Marshall, 1942

Member #547

Top
#7027381 - 11/01/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: Pharmseller]
stillbeeman Offline
Campfire Guide

Registered: 08/17/09
Posts: 2794
Loc: middle Tenn
Strong new rifle from a reputable maker, I'd bang away assuming your loads are within the parameters of your load books. Don't expect it to be the same in the accuracy department but then you never can tell til you try.
_________________________
Aim for the exit hole.

Top
#7030649 - 11/01/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: salasj]
efw Offline
Campfire 'Bwana

Registered: 12/01/07
Posts: 12546
Loc: Mi.
Originally Posted By: salasj
Do I have to start low and work up again to see how they do in this rifle?


Yeah I would if I were you.

Also... if you neck size only you might not be able to chamber the cases in the old rifle after being fired in the new... MIGHT not...

can't tell anything till you try, but yeah I would definitely work up.
_________________________
I need a drink of something like water
I need a taste of love divine
Sometimes you just gotta do what you oughta
Sometimes you bring up the water when the well is dry

-Buddy Miller

Top
#7030675 - 11/01/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: efw]
the_shootist Offline
Campfire Kahuna

Registered: 05/21/03
Posts: 19004
Loc: NW Ontario, Canada
It is NEVER wrong to start low and build a load. Absolutely NEVER!
_________________________
"Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life." (Prov 4:23)

Brother Keith


Top
#7032002 - 11/02/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: the_shootist]
17ACKLEYBEE Offline
Campfire Kahuna

Registered: 11/04/07
Posts: 19664
Loc: A wash in the west.
Originally Posted By: the_shootist
It is NEVER wrong to start low and build a load. Absolutely NEVER!


That advise is as good as it gets.
_________________________
NRA Lifetime Member

Top
#7032889 - 11/02/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: 17ACKLEYBEE]
Mule Deer Offline
Campfire Oracle

Registered: 07/24/01
Posts: 36580
Loc: Banana Belt, Montana
I shoot handloads developed for one rifle in other rifles all the time. Then again, I never try to get the absolute last 50 or 100 fps velocity supposedly possible by judging "pressure signs." Instead I pretty much stick to published data, or of that's lacking a velocity that fits in the parameters of published data.

The few exceptions are when published data are pretty wimpy, as with .257 Roberts non-+P loads. One of my favorite loads in the .257 is the 115-grain Nosler Partition or Ballistic Tip and 45.0 grains of H4350. This is two grains over Hodgdon's non-+P data but I've yet to see it produce the slightest sign of excessive pressure in several rifles. Muzzle velocity is usually about 2900 fps, depending on barrel length.

A couple years ago I was doing an article on pump-action rifles, and one of the rifles was a Remington 760 .270. I had a pile of leftover handloads on the shelf from other .270 projects so decided to fire them in the 760. The powder charges were mostly listed maximums, or close to it, from various manuals or websites. The cases of only one load even slightly stuck after being fired--and I suspect the problkem there wasn't excessive pressure but cases that had been fired several times and lost their spring.
_________________________
John

"Gunwriters, as you know, aren't as informed as their readers are and if it wasn't for the readers, there would be no need for writers..."--Shrapnel, May 2015

Top
#7033054 - 11/02/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: salasj]
temmi Offline
Campfire 'Bwana

Registered: 06/09/06
Posts: 10068
Loc: Texas
Originally Posted By: salasj
Question I picked up my new Rifle that is a Ruger M-77 264 Winchester Magnum 26" Shilen barrel 1-9 twist. Can I fire the loads I developed in my other 264 in this one. I chamber the loads and they feed smooth. Do I have to start low and work up again to see how they do in this rifle?


It depends on how Standard/SAMMI you load.

If you vary your COL to load close to the lands... then just don't do it.

Best thing is to load for the rifle... That is what I do

Snake
_________________________
That which does not kill us makes us stronger

Friedrich Nietzsche

Top
#7033276 - 11/02/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: Mule Deer]
17ACKLEYBEE Offline
Campfire Kahuna

Registered: 11/04/07
Posts: 19664
Loc: A wash in the west.
Originally Posted By: Mule Deer
I shoot handloads developed for one rifle in other rifles all the time. Then again, I never try to get the absolute last 50 or 100 fps velocity supposedly possible by judging "pressure signs." Instead I pretty much stick to published data, or of that's lacking a velocity that fits in the parameters of published data.

The few exceptions are when published data are pretty wimpy, as with .257 Roberts non-+P loads. One of my favorite loads in the .257 is the 115-grain Nosler Partition or Ballistic Tip and 45.0 grains of H4350. This is two grains over Hodgdon's non-+P data but I've yet to see it produce the slightest sign of excessive pressure in several rifles. Muzzle velocity is usually about 2900 fps, depending on barrel length.

A couple years ago I was doing an article on pump-action rifles, and one of the rifles was a Remington 760 .270. I had a pile of leftover handloads on the shelf from other .270 projects so decided to fire them in the 760. The powder charges were mostly listed maximums, or close to it, from various manuals or websites. The cases of only one load even slightly stuck after being fired--and I suspect the problkem there wasn't excessive pressure but cases that had been fired several times and lost their spring.


Well your bad reloading practices aren't going to affect mine.
_________________________
NRA Lifetime Member

Top
#7035336 - 11/03/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: 17ACKLEYBEE]
stillbeeman Offline
Campfire Guide

Registered: 08/17/09
Posts: 2794
Loc: middle Tenn
Let's see here, we get all chicken little over cartridges that have known components and are being shot in a modern, strong bolt rifle but will go into wally world, pull a box off of the shelf and shoot it without a thought.
When you buy a new box of powder, do you send a sample off to be tested so's you can be sure it is indeed 4350? Can't be too careful you know.
_________________________
Aim for the exit hole.

Top
#7037435 - 11/04/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: stillbeeman]
downwindtracker2 Offline
Campfire Guide

Registered: 05/27/01
Posts: 2678
Loc: B.C.
I think a 264 might be a special case,they are a wee bit touchy about loads.I've had a couple of barrels on mine,the loads I'm running now would easily remove the primer when fired in the first barrel.In second barrel they are ho hum. If it was a 30-06 ,I would say shoot them.
_________________________
You can hunt longer with wind at your back

Top
#7064840 - 11/11/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: salasj]
8mmwapiti Offline
Campfire Regular

Registered: 02/04/01
Posts: 792
Loc: Saint Maries ID USA
Originally Posted By: salasj
Question I picked up my new Rifle that is a Ruger M-77 264 Winchester Magnum 26" Shilen barrel 1-9 twist. Can I fire the loads I developed in my other 264 in this one. I chamber the loads and they feed smooth. Do I have to start low and work up again to see how they do in this rifle?



Some 264 Win mags had 1 in 10 twist barrels. That will lower the pressure. What does your fist 264 have? Load 2 rounds at 3 grains less, 2 at 2 less and 2 at 1 less. 6 round to make sure, not a lot of time and effort.

8mmwapiti

Top

Moderator:  RickBin, SYSOP 
RV 180 2
CLICK HERE for HUGE SUMMER DAYS SAVINGS on ZEISS OPTICS at CAMERA LAND!
RV 160 1 2
RV 160 2 2
Who's Online
350 registered (257robertsimp, 257heaven, 17_wizzer, 257wby, 1lesfox, 38 invisible), 740 Guests and 313 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
RV 160 3 2
Forum Stats
53,263 Registered Members
72 Forums
687,337 Topics
9,928,271 Posts

Most users ever online: 4,830 @ 12/02/14










Copyright © 2000-2015 24hourcampfire.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.