Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
C
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
C
I agree, gov't is full of ponzy schemes. I think Bush was on the right track encouraging private investments for retirement.

NRA LIFE MEMBER
GOD BLESS OUR TROOPS
ESPECIALLY THE SNIPERS!
"Suppose you were an idiot And suppose you were a member of Congress... But I repeat myself."
-Mark Twain
BP-B2

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
I started drawing SS as soon as I was eligible. Of course, I was already retired, but if I had passed on that $1,600/month for another four years, it would have taken me a long time to get it back at the higher rate. A good friend who was well enough off that he didn't need it in the first place waited until he was 66, then died of cancer at 67.

S
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
S
Not only that S.S. is no more it became a goverment annewity about a year ago . Now how many of use new about this

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I turn 60 this Saturday. I read this article from Forbes and learned quite a bit.

The Big Decision: When To Take Social Security

When should you apply for Social Security? It�s a simple question with no simple answer. In fact, coming up with the perfect answer requires you to be part actuary, part financial planner and part fortune teller. Still, you can make a better decision if you take the time to understand some of the twists in how benefits are calculated.

Before we venture down that winding road a warning for the oldest baby boomers, who turn 65 this year: Regardless of when you take Social Security and when you stop working, you need to enroll in Medicare when you first become eligible at 65, or you could face financial penalties in the form of higher premiums. (You can start the sign-up process here, up to three months before the month of your 65th birthday.)