Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
S
I recently bought a Savage Sporter 25-20 with a long "unmarked,unstamped" clip that came with it.
Thinking it wasn't the right clip, I bought another clip on line that is stamped on the bottom: 23 B-C 25-20 or 35-20. But the clip that is stamped with two calibers will not fit into the gun. My gun will only take a clip no longer than the 25-20 round. Hoping someone can tell me which model Savage Sporter I have.

Thank you,
Savage99F358

BP-B2

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
I'm not an expert on much of anything, but have a couple of 23s. There may be variations I don't know about, but the main two I DO know about are the earlier one with a manual cocking piece on the bolt like a Krag or an '03, and the later one with the "speedlock action" that has no manual cocking piece. There are other differences, but those are the easy ways to distinguish between the two models.

As far as I know, the first model uses a clip that has no external clip release; you grip the bottom of the clip at the stamped-in serrations and push forward and pull down. Mine all have the dual caliber stamping you mention on your second clip, too, tho, and are marked "Sporter".

The later models have a clip that is closer to being flush with the floorplate (shorter top-to-bottom) and releases with an external release that you pull back like many .22 clip repeaters. Those clips also have the two-caliber stamping, or at least mine do.

Your unmarked first clip seems to me likely to be aftermarket. The ones I've seen for the first model Sporter don't have the gripping serrations ("checkering"? "bumps"?); you just grab the bottom and push and pull 'em out. Sounds like that is your first clip. Some feed. Some don't.