Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
johnw Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
For deer???

I have no experience with MLs at all, and wonder what is the best/simplest/safest/easy to clean and maintain/and accurate muzzleloader available???

as a 2nd question, what is the best for $500 or so???

"Chances Will Be Taken"

GB1

A
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
A
Are ya lookin' for traditional or inline?

I'm not familiar with the inline guns, so can't speak for which have proven troublesome.
With the traditionals, stay away from the cheapest imports. The locks on them aren't well made and the barrels won't withstand Reasonably high pressures.
Care and feeding of the traditional is pretty much the same regardless of make or model. With a $500 budget you should be able to pick up a good used T/C or CVA along with plenty of the necessities to feed and care for it.

"There are three kinds of men
Those who learn by reading
The few who learn by observing
The rest have to pee on the
electric fence and find out
for themselves."
L
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
L
Originally Posted by johnw
For deer???

I have no experience with MLs at all, and wonder what is the best/simplest/safest/easy to clean and maintain/and accurate muzzleloader available???

as a 2nd question, what is the best for $500 or so???

The simplest is going to be an inline with regard to cleaning and safety. Accuracy will be great with any of them. Beginning with CVA Wolf at $180 through the CVA Accura at $400, T/C Impact starting around $230 to the Omega at $300 to the Triumph around $500, and Traditions Pursuit around $250-300 to Vortek for around $400, you have lots of choices. Some have easy to remove breech plugs while others have conventional types that require a wrench.