Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
F
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
F
Worth building on over a 700 action for $400 more?

Local gunsmith builds (advertises anyways) those two actions. Is the Stiller Predator action worth paying $400 over a worked over Remington 700? I have several 700's and have never been let down in the least....

GB1

F
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
F
BTW, both actions come with a 1/2 MOA guarantee so accuracy is of no consequence

S
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
S

I have a Stiller Predator that came my way by trade and I like it but I doubt there is much difference between it and a true blue 700, at least for hunting.

www.paracay.com

It's better to live rich than die rich. Live simply so that I may simply live large.
B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
If nothing else it will bring a lot more and be a lot easier to sell later with the Predator.

A
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
A
I'll say yes as long as the bolt cycling has been adressed and I keep hearing it has, a 1 pc bolt and handle can be a good thing, base screws holes can be straighter it's already trued, action body is probably straighter, some clones come with tighter tolerance fireing pin to hole fit,bolt timing should be better than a Rem that's been trued, and the resale is better, One thing I really like about Jim Bordens actions is the time he has put into his fire control system that can add alot to the accuracy equation!

IC B2

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
It probably comes up in the custom topics all the time.
Is a custom action worth the $$$ vs a trued Remington?

I'll say first I have no idea what a full blueprinted Remington action would cost to do. I know it would vary one gunsmith to the next.