Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
dubya Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Hey fella's, I've got a buddy who is new to rifle shooting and he wants to get into long range shooting and hunting. We're talking 300-1000 yards. He's dead set on getting a 300 win mag. I've been trying to explain that he doesn't NEED a magnum of any flavor and that it'll be harder to learn (recoil & muzzle blast), and more expensive. I said if he absolutely needs a mag to look into a 7 rem mag or even 264 win mag but from people he's talked to at work the 7 kicks more than a 300 and the 300 won't be affected by wind as much as a 7 mag will. I tend to disagree with both statements. Im also new to long range shooting which is why i need your help! What would be ideal for shooting and hunting (whitetail & elk) at long ranges, say 400+ yard's? And between the 300 win mag and 7 rem mag, which is better overall and has the best selection of high BC bullets?

Thanks!
Cory

GB1

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
I hope you don't take this the wrong way. New to rifle shooting and long range hunting used in the same sentence are like nails on a chalk board.
Tell your frind to do himself and the animals a favor and get a .308 win and learn the way most of your good long range shooters and hunters have. Burn out the 308 barrel and he will be on his way to answering his own questions and learning limits and what it takes to long range hunt in a responsible way.

Things at long range go wrong faster than they do up close and although magnums will help cut wind and flatten out the ride, I always get new shooters out dialing a 308 and getting plenty to trigger time. When they are comfortable with the 308 and doing thing for themself and at the practical limit they will be ready for a 300 or 7mm mag to extend their shooting to the next level

"Fast is fine accurate is final"
805 Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Pm sent

dubya Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline