Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Mako25 Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
I'm running them on most of our firearms

I'll be. Seen (and admired) photo's of several of the rifles you've worked on -- some, nearly created -- but never noticed a trigger shoe.

Even the ones you built for the girls?

BP-B2

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
I've never had the wider shoe so much but I've always really liked the ability to move it north and south on the Citori's I've had.

I know it's not much and is probably completely a mental gymnastics thing but I've wished I had that set up on my rifles.

Get a comfortable hold on the stock regarding the arm angle but make the trigger go out far enough that it's just the tip of my finger on the trigger.

Hard to explain, I guess it allows me to open and close the grip on the stock without replacing it - at my whim. So to speak.

Last edited by teal; 12/12/12.

Me

D
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
D
I have no experience with a trigger shoe on a rifle. I do know of two accidental discharges with trigger shoes on revolvers. It seems that a trigger shoe that is wider than the trigger guard can catch on a holster with disconcerting results. I know one guy in particular who has a scar on his calf from a bullet that penetrated his holster.

He who joyfully marches in rank and file has already earned my contempt. He has been given a large brain by mistake, since for him the spinal cord would suffice.

- Albert Einstein
J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J
Originally Posted by huntsman22
Originally Posted by Mako25
...... they can make taking a barreled action of out the stock a more complicated job

Didn't think of that!

Yeah. A whole (two) allen screws to loosen. real tough.

Personally, I like the 'feel' of a wide, serrated shoe. And have them on most of my guns.