Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Why isn�t this one more popular? Everybody and their brother chambers their semi-autos for the 9, .40 and .45. Off the top of my head I only know of a couple of companies who chamber the .357 Sig, Glock and obviously Sig-Sauer, but I�m sure there are others.

Looking at the ballistics it looks like an almost perfect defensive chambering. A 125 grain bullet close to or over 1400 fps duplicates the performance of the .357 Mag., and I�ve heard no one dis that for its wound channel or stopping capabilities. With only 125 grains of bullet weight recoil isn�t going to be too harsh, AFAIK. Seems like a natural for any of the compacts or smaller semi-autos that chamber the .40.

So, what are the flies in the ointment here? Too loud? Not so conveniently reloadable since it�s a bottleneck case? Supposedly that bottleneck improves its feeding reliability.

Anyway, I have no experience with this round so only know what I�ve read, but I was thinking about this last night and wondering why it hasn�t been more widely chambered in a variety of the more popular semi-autos.

Gunnery, gunnery, gunnery.
Hit the target, all else is twaddle!
BP-B2

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
If God wanted man to shoot bottleneck pistol cartridges He would have had John Browning design one.

There is nothing made by man,
which cannot be broken by woman.
C
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
C
I wonder if it isn't a matter of the KISS gene kicking in when we look at any bottleneck handgun cartridge. Sure doesn't seem like anything but traditional straight wall cartridges ever get far in handguns regardless of the perceived "advantages."

Whenever I look at those .357 Sig cartridges I see handloading problems pass across my vision unsummoned.

Mathew 22: 37-39

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger