Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I'd like to start planning a Kodiak bear hunt. While I have lots of hunting experience, I haven't hunted bears, and I haven't been to Kodiak.

What's the best way to start this odyssey? How difficult is it to draw a nonresident tag for Kodiak? Are these typically 7-10 day hunts, are do you hike in or float plane, etc?

Thank you.

Chris
BP-B2

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
You need a guide to hunt brown bears in AK unless you have a blood relative who lives there.

Most guides have exclusive guide areas on Kodiak that get guaranteed tags so no draw is necessary.

Most hunts are 10-15 days.

Transportation depends on area, most require a float plane, some boat and they also have a road system tag.

Guides I'd recommend include Paul Chervenak, Sam Rohrer, and Jake Jefferson. Some other good names out there as well.

If it was me, I'd try to hunt the west end of the island.

I hunted Kodiak three times and will be back.

Hope this helps a little.

Chris

Last edited by FishN4Eyes; 01/13/13.
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Yes, that's helpful. Thank you.

Chris
D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
I can vouch for Brian Peterson and Dennis Harms.

I was hoarding when hoarding wasn't cool.
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by dawaba
I can vouch for Brian Peterson and Dennis Harms.

Thank you.

Chris
IC B2

Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by FishN4Eyes
You need a guide to hunt brown bears in AK unless you have a blood relative who lives there.

Most guides have exclusive guide areas on Kodiak that get guaranteed tags so no draw is necessary.

Transportation depends on area, most require a float plane, some boat and they also have a road system tag.

Guides I'd recommend include Paul Chervenak, Sam Rohrer, and Jake Jefferson. Some other good names out there as well.

Chris